The Society's Medals

Introduction

In 1996 the Antique Telescope Society introduced two medals which are to be awarded, when appropriate, to nominees who have made significant contributions either to the advancement of understanding of the history of the telescope or to the well being of the Society.

Purpose

The society was founded to promote conservation of astronomical or related instruments and to provide a vehicle for communication of information toward that end. It is also within the purview of the Society to provide a forum to achieve this goal and to recognize contributions by both members of the Society and individuals or groups at large for their outstanding achievements.

Types of Awards

The Hans Lippershey Medal

This is awarded to an individual, group or institution for meritorious achievement related to the history of the telescope and the interests of the Antique Telescope Society. The nominee does not have to be a member of the Society.

The Isaac Newton Medal

This is awarded to an individual Antique Telescope Society member for meritorious service and contribution to the promotion and well being of the Society and its membership.

The Nomination Process

A short notice asking for nominations and a medal nomination form will appear annually so that the members may submit nominations if they desire.

Each year the Board will consider any nominations from members for that year. If a member wishes to nominate a candidate he should send in the medal nomination form or a suitable substitute to the Medals Committee Chairman, Walter Breyer. It must be received by the 15th of July in order that the award may be announced at the fall meeting of that same year.

The nominations will first be considered by the Medals Committee and then forwarded to the Board for its decisions. All nominations must be in writing, no longer than one page, and signed by the sponsor. Conditions relating to each award are given above under the description of the award. Members are requested to read these conditions carefully and to ensure that their nominations comply with them. These awards are expected to be occasional awards, when deemed appropriate, and are not expected to be made annually.

Records of Awards

Hans Linnershey Medal

Documentation associated with the award process, including the recommendations, will be kept by the Executive Secretary as part of the Society's archives.

Isaac Newton Medal

Past Awards

Trans Expensively Wiedan		isaac i ve w ton i vicaar	
Year	Recipient	Year	Recipient
1996	Dr. Henry C. King	1996	Mr. Robert Hambleton
1998	Dr. Donald E. Osterbrock	2000	Dr. Walter H. Breyer
2001	Ms. Deborah Jean Warner	2001	Mr. Bart Fried
2002	Lord Rosse	2005	Mr. John D. Koester
2007	Mr. Robert B. Ariail	2007	Mr. Perry W. Remaklus
2008	Mr. Rolf Riekher	2009	Mr. Peter Abrahams
2010	Dr. David DeVorkin		

Medal Nomination Form

Return Completed Form by July 15 to:
Walter Breyer
Medals Committee Chairman
Antique Telescope Society
1878 Robinson Road

(706)-864-8207 E-Mail:whbreyer@gmail.com

Dahlonega, GA 30533

Award Type (check one):	☐ Newton Medal	☐ Hans Lippershey Medal
Individual nominated:		
Address:		
Justification:		
N ID		T. 1. 1
Nominated By:		Telephone:

Address: _____ Email: _____